English Football League

2023.08.05 ~ 2024.05.26

English Football League

The World's Original League Football Competition

잉글리시 풋볼 리그 (English Football League) 는 잉글랜드와 웨일스에 위치한 프로축구 클럽이 참가하는 축구 리그입니다.  1888년에 설립된 이 축구 리그는 세계에서 가장 오래된 축구 리그로, 19세기에 설립되었을 때부터 1992년 프리미어리그가 출범하기 전까지는 잉글랜드의 최상위 축구 리그였습니다.

1992년부터 풋볼리그는 72개 팀이 세개의 디비전으로 각각 24개 팀으로 나뉘어 현재 애호가에게 잘 알려진 풋볼 리그 챔피언십, 풋볼 리그 1, 풋볼 리그 2라는 이름으로 대회를 진행하고 있습니다.  이 세 디비전간의 승강제는 풋볼리그의 가장 중요한 관심사이며, 챔피언십리그의 상위권 팀들과 프리미어리그의 하위권 팀간에 승강이 이루어지고, 풋볼 리그 2의 하위권 팀들과 내셔널리그의 상위권 팀간에 승강이 이루어집니다.  이와 같은 승강제는 모두 잉글랜드 축구 리그 시스템에 의해 이루어지게 되며, 잉글랜드 축구 리그이긴 하지만 웨일스 팀도 세 팀이 참여하고 있습니다.

The EFL (English Football League) is the largest single body of professional clubs in European football and is responsible for administering and regulating the EFL, EFL Cup and Checkatrade Trophy, as well as reserve and youth football.

Formed in 1888 by its twelve founder members, the EFL is the world's original league football competition and is the template for leagues the world over.  It has 72 member clubs, each of which embodies the unique heritage, pride and passion of the communities they represent.

The EFL is comprised of three divisions - the Championship, League One and League Two - with 24 teams in each division.  Each season there are 1,656 regular season matches (552 per division) with 15 end-of-season Play-Off Matches, including three finals at Wembley.  The competition was established in 1888 and is the world's original league football competition.  Attendances across the EFL were over 16 million last season, making it the most attended sporting competition in the UK.  The Championship itself is the fourth most watched division in Europe.  Total cumulative domestic TV audience for all three divisions was over 34.9 million with coverage of the 15/16 season broadcast to over 167 territories globally.

1983- 84 to 1985-86     Canon League

           1986-87               Today League

1987-88 to 1992-93     Barclays League

1993-94 to 1995-96     Endsleigh League

1996-97 to 2003-04     Nationalwide Football League

2004-05 to 2009-10     Coca-Cola Football League

2010-11 to 2012-13     Npower Football League

2013-14 to present      Sky Bet Football League