2023.08.08 ~ 2024.02.25


The EFL's Showpiece Cup Competition

잉글리시 풋볼리그에서 주관하는 리그 컵으로, 아마추어 팀들이 참가하는 FA컵과는 달리 프리미어리그 (1부리그)부터 리그2 (4부리그)까지 92개의 프로축구팀이 참가하며, 결승전은 웸블리구장에서 펼쳐집니다.

2016/2017 시즌부터 잉글랜드 2~4부리그의 명칭이 풋볼리그에서 EFL로 바뀌면서, 지금까지 리그컵을 주관해왔던 풋볼리그도 이에 따라 리그컵의 명칭을 공식 변경하였습니다.

The EFL Cup is the EFL's showpiece cup competition and is one of the three major honours of the domestic football season.

Beginning each August, it features all 92 clubs from the EFL and Premier League is a straight knock-out format across seven rounds, with the semi-finals being played over two legs.  Premier League clubs enter the competition in Round Two with clubs that have qualified for the Champions League or Europa League joining in Round Three.  The competition culminates in a final at Wembley Stadium, with the winner qualifying for the subsequent season's Europa League.

The EFL Cup is watched by millions of people at stadiums every season and much more watch at home on television.  In the UK, EFL Cup matches are broadcast on TV, with matches from each round being shown live, as well as both legs of each semi-final and the final.

Since its inception in 1960/61, the competition has earned itself a reputation for thrilling floodlit cup football with many memorable moments and shock results.  In more recent seasons it has garnered a reputation for being the competition in which the young stars of the future make their bow in professional football.

1960-61 to 1980-81     Football League Cup

1981-82 to 1985-86     Milk Cup

1986-87 to 1989-90     Littlewoods Challenge Cup

1990-91 to 1991-92     Rumbelows Cup

1992-93 to 1997-98     Coca-Cola Cup

1998-99 to 2002-03     Worthington Cup

2003-04 to 2011-12     Carling Cup

2012-13 to 2015/16     Capital One Cup

          2016-17               EFL Cup

2017-18 to present     Carabao Cup